Yellowbox Bowls

Well it’s been a while since I posted anything. I’ve been a bit busy doing things around the house and grabbing shed time when I could.
 
This is a Yellowbox Bowl that I completed in January but haven’t had a chance to post yet. The walls are a bit thick but the wood blank had so many cracks in it that I wasn’t sure it would hold together at all. A liberal application of super glue to the cracks, as they appeared, and several attempts at turning it come up with a shape I was finally happy with. It was finally finished with a “Wipe on Poly” to give it a semi-gloss finish.
 
The big cracks in the bottom could have been filled in with something to make it look a bit better. Maybe next time. I still have another block of this left ( although it’s cracked a bit worse) so I’ll see how it come up later this year.
 
Might have to put this up for sale at the next market to see if I can get anything for it.
Leave a Reply

