Making Sawdust

I friend of  a friend  was cutting down a Silky Oak tree in his yard. I managed to score myself a small log that I brought home, and cut it up into pieces. It’s the first time I’ve had a chance to take a log and cut it down to usable sizes. It was a very satisfying experience.

Silky Oak (4)

 

 

 

 

A bit of work with a chain saw, and the bandsaw, I managed to get 4 decent cuts for some future bowls or platters, about 42 cut offs for pen blanks plus some other bits and pieces.

Silky Oak (2)

 

 

 

 

Now I just have to store it away for about 12 months for it to dry out. I’ll be looking forward to actually turning this into something useful.

Leave a Reply

